The house was built for Theophilus Conrad, a Frenchman who made his fortune in the tanning business. After his death in 1905, the Caldwell family purchased the home. This residence has operated under several other established organizations, and now is open as a museum. Visitors are invited to explore the house filled with breathtaking woodwork, stained glass, and fixtures. Surrounding the home, gargoyles, swags, massive arches and fleur-de-lis encompass the area.