The Cooper Gristmill, located in the Black River Park, reveals the history of the surrounding community.
The stretch of the Black River on which the Cooper Gristmill is situated is well-suited for the operation of water-powered mills. In the 1760's, Isaiah Younglove began a flour milling operation that lasted until 1788. Over the years, the mill went through several owners, with the present mill being built in 1826 by Nathan Cooper. Visitors to Cooper Gristmill can watch the massive water wheel power shafts and gears that turn 2,000-pound mill stones as the master miller - in period costume - explains the history of the mill and the vibrant community once called Milltown.