The building itself was built in 1905, and is one of the largest and last surviving wooden freight depots in the United States. It features the largest collection of artifacts and memorabilia known to exist under one roof. Visitors can also see the longest HO scale layout and diorama all on one floor that lays 14 ft. x 204 ft.
The fright depot has been restored and now the office area serves as the lobby to the museum. The desk and two typewriters are those used in this office during New York Central times. The replica ticket booth was designed to blend with the original character of the depot office. The ever-growing number of exhibits and interactive displays show how the railroad influenced our culture, industry, and history.