The former W.E. Merritt Hardware Company building, now home to The Mount Airy Museum of Regional History, is located at 301 N. Main Street, in historic downtown Mount Airy. Records indicate Mr. Merritt purchased the site in 1903. Construction of the building began the following year. The building in and of itself is a historic gem. An enclosed courtyard and a stair tower, with an illuminated 8-foot clock and an observatory, are recent additions that have enhanced the charm of the entire facility.